BREAKING: Rival Leaders Signs Peace Deal in Khartoum to end South Sudan’s Conflict


Dr. Riek Machar Teny, President Omar Hassa el Bashir and others celebrate breakthrough in Khartoum peace talk in July, 2018

August 5th 2018  – South Sudan’s main rival leaders, President Salva Kiir Mayardiit, and SPLM-IO leader Dr. Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon, along with other opposition leaders, have signed in Khartoum, the Sudanese capital, the long awaited peace agreement to end the South Sudan conflict.

All the South Sudanese parties, including the South Sudan Opposition Alliance and the SPLM-FDs which initially declined to sign the agreement also signed the agreement.

General Peter Gatdet Yaka, the leader of the splinter group, SSUM, which was suspended from the South Sudan Opposition Alliance for initialing this agreement last month signed the agreement separately and not as part of the Opposition Alliance.

According to the terms of the agreement, South Sudan’s incumbent President, Salva Kiir, will lead the transitional government of national unity for a period of 36 month and the SPLM-IO leader Dr. Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon will be reinstated as the First Vice-President.

There would be another four vice presidents two of whom would be nominated by the incumbent government led by Kiir and one would be for the South Sudan Opposition Alliance and the fourth one would be nominated by the FDs but shall be a woman.

Also according to the agreement, there shall be a cabinet of 35 ministers with the government having the lion’s share taking 20 minister. Machar’s SPLM-IO to have 9 ministers and the remaining 6 would be divided between the South Sudan Opposition Alliance, the Former Detainees and other political parties.

The Transitional Period would be preceded by a period of eight month pre-transitional period that will witness the settling of the issue of the controversial 32 states.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here