The National Stadium in Dar es Salaam will be the venue on Sunday (26 August 2018) for a thrilling final of the CECAFA U-17 Zonal qualifier between Ethiopia and Uganda. Both teams booked their final spots on Friday, defeating Rwanda and Tanzania respectively at the same venue.


Ethiopia defeated Rwanda 4-2 on penalties after a 2-2 stalemate in regulation time. Ethiopia took the lead through Mintesnot Endrias Wakjira after 11 minutes, only for Moise Nyarugabo to draw Rwanda level on 33 minutes. The Junior Wasps went up for the first time just before the break via Rodrigue Isingizwe, from the spot. The lead won’t last long before Wakjira restored parity on 51 minutes.


During penalties, Beyene Bayse, Amanuel Mengesha, Wondimagegn Bunaro and

Wakjira converted for Ethiopia whilst Keddy Nsanzimfura and Emmanuel Nititanga scored for Rwanda.


In the other semi-final clash, Uganda ended the fairytale run of host Tanzania with a 3-1 win. Iddi Abdulwahid gave Uganda the lead after only four minutes, but Esdon Mshirakandi equalized for the homers seven minutes.


Uganda’s spirited second half performance saw them take the lead yet again through John Alou on 77 minutes before an own goal by Amiri Njeru in stoppage time sealed victory for the Cubs.


Despite the loss, Tanzania are qualified to next year’s Total U-17 Africa Cup of Nations as hosts. They will be joined by the winner of the final between Ethiopia and Uganda as CECAFA representative in the finals.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here